sourgurl77's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yikes!

I hate the rain. It rained so much, the basement flooded. When I tell people this, this gasp in shock as if I said my house floated away.

And I'm thinking, fuck I wish I still lived in my apartment.

Yeah, I live by Chicago and if you hear on the news about the down pour ... think about me. Anything that happens in Chicago, happens where I live - we're about 20-30 mins away.

So the back room flooded. Then a wall had water seeping in, which went across the room and under another wall to the drain.

I'm sitting here thinking, what do I do? I mean mold, you read about the horrors of mold.

So my fiancee and I, and a little puppy all bailed water from 5 to 8 at night. The puppy tuckered out at 7 - shivering and looking tired, he was crated where he howled off an on between naps.

We used a wet vac and I used a dust pan and two bucks and bailed, bailed, bailed. A thousand gallons later, the water was nearly gone, however .....

I noticed it was still coming in and I flipped out (pms and tension headache all week) ... and said what are we even working for? It's like trying to drain a river.

SO ... we stopped and this morning, it was like we never bailed water at all. IT was less though, the back room at least, had less ... yesterday it was about an inch of water, today it's maybe 1/2 inch. I pray pray pray that it's stopped seeping in ... but we won't really know until tonight when we do this all over again.

We both didn't sleep to well, ate dinner late ... and I wanted to cry my eyes out but didn't.

Today we're both pretty much dead, but at least ... there isn't that much more water than yesterday. So I worry on mold.

And not wanting to pay some company to come check a wall and then charge like $100 dollars. There is no dry wall, just hippy paneling. I have the dehumidifier just humming away downstairs, but not sure if that'll do it, once the water goes, we'll have the drying out period, but it went all over.....

Fiancee said out of the 4-5 years he's lived there, he's never seen the basement flood as it did.

I want to just move. Seriously, because I'm tired of all the problems this house has. The kitchen light doesn't work - need a new light/fan. The other bedroom needs to be entirely redone - paneling, ugly carpeting, drop ceiling and best of all, someone ripped all the lovely trim from the room, so we have to install new ... oh yeah we don't know how to install trim .... and that room doesn't have a light either. The kitchen and bathroom both need to be redone.

It's just so annoying ... not to sound spoiled ... or a snob, but I want a house where I don't have to worry about something falling apart!

Our next house, we're going to get a newer ... one ... built in 2000 and up. I know we'll still have issues w/ things, but not like the circa 1960-70 house we have.

Everyone says we should redo the kitchen to sell it, but no way. We barely have money to buy a can of paint, let alone buy cabinets and new flooring...etc.

So I'm going to paint the cabinets we have now - and paint the kitchen to sort of revamp it a bit. The countertop is ugly orange though, if that were white at least it'd look better, however the tile in the kitchen is built around .... the counter, so it's not so easy to remove it.

I thought about painting it, but they say that makes it worse-scratches easy, etc. So I think if we paint the cabinets and the walls, it'll at least help it out some?

The floor is real tile - in brown. It's not to bad, really easy to clean.

Like I said, it's hard right now because of having to pay on the rings and visa and wedding things. If we didn't have these things, I think we'd probably have at least $600 extra a month! Wow.......

So after we're married, that really sounds good to have that money back (well after we've paid up on the honeymoon!)

My parents are giving us $5,000 and from that ... $2,000 is left over for honeymoon. Our honeymoon should cost around $3,000 - maybe - so ah, hopefully the wedding presents will equate to something like $2,000....

;)

Oh well, I am banking on having two bridal showers - one at work and one for family/friends. Then the wedding. And in that, I am inviting all those folk who've I sent gifts to ... through the years ... for their weddings.

Sort of like that Se x in the Ci ty episode where Carrie loses her shoes at this house and then realizes how single people get shafted out of gifts ... etc.

Not that I'm single ... but when you've sent gifts for weddings and for baby showers, etc. etc. it's like okay time to pay the piper! I mean sorry, I don't expect anything back when I give a gift, but when times are slim ... I at least want acknowledgement!!!

Regardless ...

I feel sort of excited about my wedding, I guess the whole celebration thing! Yay right?!

So I'm planning now on making my own invites ... what is great is my fiancee is a graphic artist, so I can say, I WANT THIS and he'll re-create it (and I don't have to do it, though I know how to...tee-hee)!!!!!!

The thing is buying some nice ass paper and the cost of nice ass paper verses the cost of just buying them pre-made. So I'll see.

What excited me yesterday was I got this wedding planner from Hall-mark and it's just a calendar - and I had mine start in October ... so I have to pull that out and start planning on when to do certain things as in when to send out save the date cards and bridal shower stuff and when to start planning my sisters baby shower.

Yikes. I think for Christmas this year I am going to A. make things for people and B. not over spend. My sister is getting a baby item for both her and her husband - think crib or high-chair or play pen? My parents will get something made and then small gifts - and friends/ family will get the same.

Fiancee - clothing and uh, I dunno. I think it should work out, I am going to make these nuts for people (very very good) and probably something else. And sew something for my parents? Not sure yet, just what.

I know it's only Sept. but if you think about it, it's like 2.5 months until Christmas.....yikes!

8:51 a.m. - 2006-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: