sourgurl77's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

like that.

My job interview this week came and went. It was yesterday - the one for the legal secretary - and it was a laugh.

I go in and write out this application ... 10 minutes later ... this lady comes in. No questions about what I can. Just this is the job, very mundane.

I recall these words said, The boss doesn't like chit chat and gossip in his office ... there are no benefits ... weeks paid vacation after a year ... $10 an hour."

I laughed.

I laughed and said, "well thanks, but no thanks." I talked w/ the interviewer and asked about the field of legal careers ... and she told me the nitty gritty. I realized that I'm most likely ... in a career where I should stay - media/print.

I realized, while sitting there, that it'd take a long time to break into another career field. Time, that I do not have the luxury of having anymore.

So at that moment, sitting in that dank, colorless office, I realized that I'm staying in my "field."

I figure, the years of experience I have in my "field" ... I could possibly cash-in on a really cool job.

I realized this, because my other interview is Monday.

After reading about the company, thats to interview me for this job, I am in a sense, flattered. Sort of like, wow they possibly want me to work for them??

Cool.

The thing is, with that, it's very, hard, slim, to get such a job in such a huge company. Though I beat the odds once and got my cruiseline job ... can lightening strike twice?

I'm praying and not really trying to get upset if I don't get it, etc. I know the job market is nuts. I know this. But still it's hard not to day dream about giving a two week notice and then having a cool new job and what is better, a pay raise.

What I find, on the net, is the normal salary for the job I'm going for - prod. coor di nator. Which pays, I read, $40 ,000 a year. However with my experience, maybe they'd ought to pay me only $35,000.

Either, I would be more than happy with. Thinking of how it'd help me out with the bills, the wedding, and finally getting a hold on my debt.

Still day dreaming is worthless. I am going to start researching and practicing this interview. If I want this job, I know I have to do some leg work.

So Monday we'll see about this - as I'm calling in "sick" ... merely because if I told someone it was a personal day, I would have to do a lot of needless work - and stuff and right now I really just don't want to.

Why? Because ... this company I work for, just put my fiance on NIGHTS. This is new, and very odd and what more, it's crazy. Graphic Artists shouldn't be on NIGHTS.

He works until 10:30 ... at night M-W and Th-Fri it's until 7.

So yeah, I won't see my man as much...which is upsetting and something I'm not used to.

I know it's something to get used to, but I think our career lives are changing...or maybe not. I just pray to God I get these job, it just feels right. When I first saw it advertised, I thought ... they won't even interview me, but what the hell I'll try.

Oh well enough of this, I'm feel a bit better from my month long cold from hell. I can't wait until my time is over too. Then ka-boom smooth sailing.

Regardless, I have to update more I guess. I've been a bit more stressed out lately, hate when I get like that.

2:14 p.m. - 2006-11-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: